Election day blues playlist

I started playing my LPs last night (November 3rd) while we waited for the election results to come in. We’re still waiting, so I kept going today. The only rule is I could only play American artists. Here’s where I am so far:

November 3rd:

The Chicks – Gaslighter

Wilco – A.M.

Prince – Purple Rain

Tracy Chapman (album)

The Civil Wars – Barton Hallow

November 4th:

Brandi Carlile – By the Way, I Forgive You

Willie Nelson – Red Haired Stranger

Lucinda Williams – Car Wheels on a Gravel Road

The Black Keys – ACL Live

R.E.M. – Document

John Lee Hooker – Moanin’ the Blues

Violent Femmes (album)

Billy Eilish – When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?

John Coltrane – Both Directions at Once

I played R.E.M., John Lee Hooker, the Violent Femmes and John Coltrane partly because they were from swing states, and the superstitious part of me wanted to call upon the swing state gods to curry favor for Joe Biden. R.E.M. is from Athens, Georgia; John Lee Hooker lived in Detroit, Michigan; the Violent Femmes were from Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and John Coltrane was from Hamlet, North Carolina. I’ve got a stack of goodies left, I can keep this list updated until we figure out who will be president of the U.S. next year. I suspect I will run out of LPs.

November 5th:

Lizzo – Cuz I love you (Michigan!)

Now to Georgia:

Janelle Monae – Dirty Computer

Indigo Girls (album)

Lyle Lovett (album) – Texas, but hey, they were a swing state for one hot minute, right?

Published by Possibly Netherlandish

I am a US expat from the Chicagoland area living in the Netherlands.

Leave a comment